Six Indian-origins nominated for Ellis Island Medal of HonorNRI Top Stories

March 25, 2017 16:05
Six Indian-origins nominated for Ellis Island Medal of Honor

Six Indian-Americans have been nominated for the highest civilian award in the United States for immigrants - Ellis Island Medal of Honor 2017.

Among 88 named recipients, PepsiCo CEO Indra Nooyi, author Fareed Zakaria, Harman International Industries Chairman CEO Dinesh Paliwal, Dr. Annapoorna S Kini, Yashvant Patel, and Mohan H Patel.

Indra Nooyi has been the CEO of PepsiCo since 2006 and chairman since 2007.

Nooyi was previously the president and chief financial officer at the company, as well as senior vice-president, and senior vice-president of corporate strategy and development.

Zakaria is the host of CNN’s shows "Fareed Zakaria GPS" as well as a columnist for the Washington Post. He also served Newsweek as a columnist, editor of Newsweek International and editor-at-large of Time.

Paliwal has been the chairman of Harman since 2008 and president and CEO since 2007.

The National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) founded the Ellis Island Medal Honor and is given to individuals, whose achievements in their field and service to the country are cause for celebration.

Since its establishment in 1986, the medal has been recognized by both Houses of Congress as one of the nation’s most prestigious awards.

NECO has honored diverse Americans, including six presidents of America, former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, as well as esteemed Americans such as Frank Sinatra, Lee Iacocca, Quincy Jones, Muhammad Ali, Nobel laureate Elie Wiesel, Louis Zamperini and Rosa Parks.

The 2017 recipients will be honored at an event on Ellis Island in New York on 13th May.

Trump nominates Indian-origin to a top Judicial post


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)